Issue with Multiple Time Frame Data Alignment

Novatago

I'm a developer experimenting with the motivewave sdk. In particular, I'm trying to build Studies that have access to multiple timeframes (BarSize)s at the same time.

I've noticed an issue with the way that MotiveWave handles data alignment when there are multiple timeframes shown on the same chart.

As a simple example, I've created a 1min OHLC chart of QQQ, and then added an SMA(C,1) with its Options/BarSize set to 1 Hour. I know this is a contrived example because 1 period SMA isn't useful, but it's helpful to illustrate the issue.

Using this setup, the SMA takes 60 minutes (or 60 bars of 1min spacing on the chart) in order to calculate its value. So to be clear, the value of the SMA at 8:00am on the 1 min bar chart will be based on data only available at 8:00am and not a minute before.

If I open the CursorData window and scrub through the 1min chart between 7:00am and 8:00am, I can see the SMA(C,1) value is the one that is calculated at 8:00am. This means that MotiveWave is making the 8:00am data available in the chart available in the hour prior! Unless I'm misunderstanding something fundamentally about how MotiveWave deals with aligning multiple time frames, this is a major future leak issue - looking at charts, one could be fooled into thinking that the indicator values have more predictive power than they actually do because the data is leaking from the 'future'.